Prayers and discussions were also held in memory of the martyrs killed in the grenade attack on August 21 in Titas

Taufiqul Islam-Titas Comilla:

That horrible August 21, the terrible day of the brutal massacre. 17 years ago, on this day in 2004 (August 21), Bangabandhu Avenue in Dhaka was shaken by a huge grenade explosion. A horrible situation was created there due to the screaming and moaning of the people.

The assassins hurled grenades and fired shots to assassinate the party’s president Sheikh Hasina at an anti-terrorism rally organized by the Awami League on the same day. 24 Awami League leaders and activists were killed in this incident. More than five hundred were injured.

Many of whom have been crippled forever. Some people still do not get back to normal life. The misery of the grenade splinter is leading to death. Although Bangabandhu’s daughter Sheikh Hasina survived, her hearing was damaged.

A discussion meeting and prayers were held at the Upazila Auditorium on Saturday afternoon, August 21 at the Upazila Auditorium under the chairmanship of Md. Shawkat Ali, President of Upazila Awami League.

Comilla North District Awami League Publicity and Publication Secretary Titas Upazila Parishad Chairman Mohammad Parvez Hossain Sarkar, Upazila Awami League General Secretary and Karikandi Union Parishad Chairman Mohammad Mohsin Bhuiyan were present on the occasion.

Also present were Md. Farhad Ahmed Fakir, Vice Chairman, Titas Upazila Parishad, Md. Nurnabi, Joint Convener of Comilla North District Awami Volunteer League and Chairman, Balrampur Union Parishad, Dewan Md. Jahangir, Former Member Secretary of Titas Upazila Awami League, Md. Moazzem Hossain, Upazila Awami League Leader. Md. Anwar Hossain, Md. Shah Alam Sarkar Shanti, Chairman of Satani Union Parishad Md. Shamsul Haque Sarkar, Chairman of Jagatpur Union Parishad Md. Mojibur Rahman, Chairman of Kalakandi Union Parishad Md. Habibullah Bahar, Upazila Juba League Leader Md. Fayez Ahmed Jewel, President of Upazila Sramik League Gazi Md. Sohel Rana , Titas Upazila Tati League Member Secretary Shahjalal Munshi, Joint Convener Belal Bhuiyan Comilla North District BCL Organizing Secretary Md. Tafazzal Hossain Saddam, Comilla North District BCL Leader Md. Nazrul Islam and others.

After discussion and prayers, the Upazila Awami League and allied leaders marched from the Upazila premises to the Gauripur to Homna road.

Spread the love

Author: Md Borhan Mia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *