Fifa Best: Onyango, Desabre preferred Mbappe over winner Modric

FOOTBALL | The crème de la Crème of football descended to London’s Royal Festival Hall on Monday night as Fifa announced the best players in the world.

Croatian and Real Madrid playmaker Luka Modric was named the men’s best player of the year ending Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi’s ten-year dominance. The two had shared the last ten accolades between themselves.

Modric garnered slightly below a-third of all the votes cast by national team coaches, captains and journalists.

Sendo Cleaners

Ronaldo came second, Egypt’s captain Mohammed Salah finished third, while Brazil star Neymar failed to make the top ten.

Salah’s goal for Liverpool against Everton in December last year was nominated the Puskas best goal.

France’s World Cup winning tactician Didier Deschamps was named the best coach ahead of country mate Zinedine Zidane and Croatia’s Dalic Zlatko.

Uganda Cranes coach Sebastian Desabre voted for his fellow Frenchman Kylian Mbappé, Hazard and Messi in that order. He also picked Didier Deschamps and Zidane as his two best preferred choices for the coach’s award.

Skipper Onyango voted for Mbappé, Modric and Ronaldo then Deschamps and Zidane.

Brazilian number 10, Marta was crowned the queen of football for the first time since 2010 as Lyon’s Reynald Pedros took home the best women’s coach.


There was an uproar and confusion in social media forums as to why Real Madrid and Belgium goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois was named the best goalkeeper but failed to make the team of the season.

There was also a general consensus that Atletico Madrid and France striker Antoine Griezmann should have made the final three ahead of Mohammed Salah.

National team captains and coaches and one journalists from each member association is allowed one chance to cast three votes in their preferred order.

Their vote is tallied with the first, second and third choice awarded 5,4 and three points respectively.

These votes account for 75% of the total number cast. The other 25 is left for the fans who choose their best players. Their vote is tallied by the Fifa’s selection committee.

The selection panel of this year’s awards included Brazil legends Kaka and Ronaldo, Didier Drogba, Frank Lampard and Fabio Capello.

The best XI is chosen by thousands of players who are registered by Fifpro. The players select their best for every position in the field.

That vote is independent of the individual players awards and both are run almost concurrently.

Full list of winners
Men’s Player: Luka Modric
Women’s Player: Marta
Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps
Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros
Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois
Puskás Award: Mo Salah
Fan Award: Peru supporters
Fair Play Award: Lennart Thy
World11: David De Gea; Dani Alves, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Raphael
Varane; Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo,
Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

eighteen − 10 =