Desabre drops Isinde as all summoned Cranes stars report for duty

Uganda host neighours Tanzania in Afcon 2019 qualifiers at Namboole Stadium this weekend

FOOTBALL | All foreign-based players summoned for Cranes duty have arrived in the country and joined their local counterparts in camp as the Uganda Cranes began serious preparations ahead of their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Tanzania set for Saturday 8 at Namboole.

Head coach Sebastian Desabre named his final squad of 24 players on Monday after their training session at Lugogo before heading to Kireka where they are residing.

The latest arrivals include skipper Denis Onyango, Farouk Miya, Yunus Ssentamu, William Luwagga Kizito and Moses Opondo, who arrived late last night.

Sendo Cleaners

Apart from Onyango, the other four were exempted from Tuesday morning training to allow the players rest.

Uganda took charge of Group L of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualification after an away win against Cape Verde in June last year.

Geoffrey Sserunkuuma scored in the 83rd minute at the Estádio da Várzea in Praia to lift the Cranes’ hopes of making it to a second successive Afcon finals.

Uganda’s other group rivals are Tanzania and Losotho, who drew their opening match 1-1. Lesotho will host Cape Verde in the other Group L fixture.

This is coach Desabre’s major engagement in the Cranes dugout since taking from Serbian Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic in December last year.

The Frenchman has started rather slow as he seeks to impose his possessive style of play on the players and the Tanzania test will be his major encounter to negotiate.

Isinde dropped

Desabre had summoned an initial squad of 30 players but dropped six on Monday. Among those axed include Isaac Isinde, who now plies his trade in the local scene with Jinja-based Kirinya.

Others are Yassar Mugerwa, Nicholas Sebwato, Mustapha Mujuzi, Allan Kyambadde and Martin Kizza.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal
Salim (El Meriekh, Sudan), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda)
Defenders: Denis Iguma (Kazma FC, Kuwait), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam,
Tanzania), Godfrey Walusimbi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa) FC, Isaac
Muleme (Haras El Hodood, Egypt), Murushid Juuko (Simba Sports Club,
Tanzania), Denis Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Hassan Wasswa (El
Geish, Egypt)
Midfielders: Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC, Uganda), Tadeo Lwanga
(Vipers SC, Uganda), William Luwagga Kizito (BATE Borisov, Belarus),
Joseph Ochaya (Lusaka Dynamo, Zambia), Moses Opondo ( Vendsyssel,
Denmark), Allan Kateregga (Cape Town City, South Africa), Khalid Aucho
(Un-attached), Faruku Miya (Gorica, Croatia), Moses Waiswa (Vipers Sc,
Forwards: Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba SC, Tanzania), Yunus Sentamu (FK
Tirana, Albania), Edrisa Lubega (SV Ried, Austria), Derrick Nsibambi
(Smouha, Egypt), Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

19 + 6 =