Bobi Wine to sit on presidential committee as anti-age limit MPs are left in the cold

Speaker Kadaga asks the former Members to prepare and hand over of the work to commence

PARLIAMENT – Kyaddondo East legislator Robert Kyagulanyi, aka Bobi Wine, will sit on the Presidential Affairs Committee of Parliament on a day several committee leaders were whipped out of various positions they held.

The committee is chaired by Jessica Ababiku .

In what appears to be payback time for their allegiance during the controversial age limit debate and subsequent passing in December last year, several NRM legislators have been dropped from chairing or deputising as chair at various parliamentary committees.

Sendo Cleaners

For those who supported, campaigned for and voted in favour of age limit, ‘rewards’ were passed. And the NRM party had some surprise in store, warming in Kitgum Municipality MP Beatrice Anywar on the Gender and Labour committee  to deputise Alex Ndeezi.

Eyebrows were raised but the country will not be shocked given how the Opposition-leaning Independent MP has conducted her political stance in the last few months.

During vote on the controversial age limit Bill, Anywar voted in favour, leading to the Speaker to ask for her to repeat her vote in the live telecast session and she maintained the same.

Anywar has since been critical of Opposition strong man Dr Kizza Besigye and lavished praises on President Museveni.

Members serving on committees are designated through their whips, on the basis of party representation in the House.

And it appears NRM chief whip Ruth Nankabirwa had her hands full, whipping out Connie Galiwango from chairing the Education committee. She was replaced with Palisa County MP Jacob Opolot.

Buvuma Islands MP Robert Migadde Ndugwa will no longer chair Agriculture committee. Instead, the responsibility will fall on the shoulders of Abim District Woman MP Janet Okori.

Still in the queue of the dumped is Fortportal Municipality MP Alex Ruhunda will be handing over the deputy chair of Trade and Industry committee to Nansana Municipality MP Robert Sebunya.

Not done, NRM also dropped Kiryandongo District Woman MP Helen Kahunde as vice chair of the Health committee and replaced her with Baguma Spelanza, while Susan Ameru will handover deputising on Presidential Affairs committee to Napak District Woman MP Nyakuni Jessica.

Others who have been dropped as chairperson of the committees include Judith Nabakoba, who has been the chairperson of Defence and Internal Affairs Committee, and Isingiro South MP Alex Byarugaba, who has been replaced on Natural Resources committee with Kefa Kiwanuka

Henry Musasizi retained his slot as Chairperson of the Finance Committee, although his deputy Loy Katali (Jinja Woman) was dropped from the committee.

Defence and Internal Affairs committee that oversees Ministry of Defence and Internal Affairs received the shakeup when former leaders Nabakooba and Kezekia Mbogo were dropped (Chairperson and Deputy) and replaced with Doreen Amule and Moses Nagwomu, respectively.

On the Committee of East African Community Affairs, George Ouma and Agnes Amede have been named chair and deputy, while there were also changes on the Foreign Affairs committee where NRM brought fresh blood in Hood Katuramu and Violet Akurut, pushing out Rose Mutonyi from the chairperson seat.

NRM MP protests

The ruling party also designated Gaffa Mbwatekamwa as a member on the Gender committee, a decision the legislator protested, arguing that he only applied on the Committee of Health.

“I don’t know if it is a punishment. Where the member has never applied and the member will never perform?” he asked.

But he was cut short by Denis Obua, who ‘schooled’ him on the Rules of Procedure (Rule 183) arguing that all committees are equal.

Speaker Kadaga also ruled Mbwatekamwa out of order.

Capitalising on the little drama, a tongue-in-cheek Medard Sseggona, who was acting as Opposition Chief Whip, told Mbwatekamwa that the only solution he has is to “cross from the ruling party to opposition.”

Hood Katuramu is set to taste the privileges of being committee chairperson after being named head Foreign Affairs and is set to be deputized by Vincent Akurut.

On the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, Jacob Oboth bounced back as chairperson, but that wasn’t the same case with his deputy Robinah Rwakoojo, who was replaced with Sam Bitangara yet Monicah Amoding, who has been passionate about legal matters and opposed the age limit bill, was kicked off the committee.

Amoding will now sit on the Trade and Tourism committee while Paul Mwiru joins his opposition counterparts like Abdu Katuntu, Ssemujju Nganda, Medard Sseggona and Mathias Mpugga.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

five × 1 =